Loading Events

« All Events

Fall Prairie Seed Collection Volunteer Day

October 25 @ 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 9:00 am on Wednesday and Friday, repeating until October 25, 2019

Fall is a beautiful time of year to be out in the prairie!  The colors are changing and prairie seeds are ripening on the stem.  Join Dane County Parks for a fall harvest on the prairie as we collect seeds around the County at different parks each week.  Seeds are collected to plant and enhance lands in other natural areas for pollinators, wildlife, and land restoration.  Join us for what will be a unique and rewarding experience.  No prior experience is needed.  All tools and training will be provided. Groups (students or other) need to contact Lars directly to register and talk over logistics.

Please visit the link HERE to register and for more detailed directions to meeting locations.

 Schedule:

Meet at 9:00 am and collect seed till 12:00 noon

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 — Golden Alexander at Lake Farm across the road from the Lussier Heritage Center

Friday, August 23, 2019 — Schumacher Farm

Friday, September 6, 2019 — Indian Lake

Friday, September 13, 2019 — Cam Rock

Wednesday, September 18 — Yahara Heights

Friday, September 20 — Pheasant Branch

Tuesday, September 24 — Walking Iron Wildlife Area

Wednesday, September 25 — Swamp Lovers Preserve

Friday, September 27 — Indian Lake

Wednesday, October 2 — Holy Wisdom Monastery

Friday, October 11 — Cam Rock

Wednesday, October 16 — Holy Wisdom Monastery

Friday, October 18 — Ice Age Junction, County Highway M unit

Friday, October 25 — Ice Age Junction, Reddan unit

Details

Date:
October 25
Time:
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Category:

Organizer

Dane County Parks
Email:
pascual.lael@countyofdane.com